Pan Roasted Snapper, Goat Cheese Soufflé, Spicy Tomato Jam, Garlic Braised Baby Spinach, Citrus Sake Butter

Pan Roasted Snapper, Goat Cheese Souffle, Spinach, Tomato Jam, Citrus Sake Butter

Recently I posted about a meal I had while on vacation at Boshamps in Destin, FL. I liked it so much I decided I’d try and make it at home. I made a few modifications to better suit my palette. You can see my original post for the Pan Roasted Gulf Grouper with Feta Soufflé, Braised Spinach, Tomato Jam and Citrus Butter.

As I had time to reflect on the Boshamp’s version, I thought of a few improvements. Don’t get me wrong, their version is outstanding and I completely get what they were going for. I just thought I would take everything awesome about what they did and make it my own.

First, I couldn’t find fresh grouper, so I used fresh snapper. Not a bad trade off.

Their tomato jam was like real jam, sweet and gelatinous. I’ve been making tomato jam for a while for my Roasted Salmon, Noodle Salad with Tomato Jam. My version uses ginger and crushed red pepper flake which needless to say adds quite a bit of kick. I thought that would match better with this dish.

On the soufflé, I only tweaked it by using fresh local goat cheese instead of feta. I’d never made a soufflé before. Other than the whisking of the egg whites, it was pretty easy.

The final tweak was the citrus butter. I used grapefruit, lime, lemon and yuzu plus I added the sake. I added the sake for two reasons. The ginger in the tomato jam gave a bit of an Asian flare, so I thought the sake would feed off that. I would like to say that was the main reason, the real reason was I didn’t want to open a bottle of white wine, and the sauce needed something. I already had the sake open and it worked out great. Sometimes those happy circumstances are the best.

All and all, this couldn’t have turned out better. The meal had all the components I like. The fresh local snapper was just cooked through and had some crunch on the outside. The soufflé was such a surprise both at Boshamps and my version. It really stands up and acts like a starch like a mashed potato or grits. The spicy tomato jam adds a nice kick of heat. The spinach add a fresh pop and acted like a glue to hold the dish together. The citrus sake butter complimented all the other components perfectly with a punch of acid. The meal was just awesome. I love making restaurant quality, copy-cat meals at home.

Give this one a try and let me know what you think.

Ingredients for Tomato Jam

  • 1 can diced tomatoes
  • 2 tbsp fresh ginger, minced
  • 1 large shallot, minced
  • 2 tbsp light brown sugar
  • 2 tbsp rice wine vinegar
  • 2 tsp crushed red pepper flake
  • 2 tbsp canola oil
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Ingredients for Goat Cheese Soufflé

  • 3 tbsp unsalted butter, plus more for cooking dish
  • 3 AP flour, plus more for dusting the cooking dish
  • 1/2 cup milk, warm
  • 4 oz goat cheese
  • 1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1 tsp kosher salt
  • 1/4 tsp fresh cracked pepper
  • 4 large eggs, separated then bring to room temperature

Ingredients for Citrus Sake Butter

  • 1 grapefruit, juiced
  • 1 lime, juiced
  • 1 lemon, juiced
  • 2 tbsp yuzu (this can be hard to find, you can skip)
  • 1/2 cup sake
  • 1/4 cup chilled butter, cut in pieces
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Ingredients

  • 2 fresh snapper filet (any firm fish will work like grouper)
  • 1 large bunch of baby spinach
  • 2 garlic cloves, crushed
  • 1 tbsp rice wine vinegar
  • Olive oil
  • Canola oil
  • Salt and pepper
  • Radish sprouts for garnish

Directions for Spicy Tomato Jam
This can be done ahead of time.

  1. Heat a small sauce pan over medium. Add the canola oil and simmering add the ginger and shallot. Continue cooking until softened and fragrant, about 4 minutes.
  2. Add the tomato, brown sugar, crushed red pepper flake and rice wine vinegar. Continue cooking over moderate heat, stirring and mashing occasionally.
  3. Allow the mixture to simmer for about 10 minutes (or longer if you like it thicker). Season with salt and pepper. The jam can be served immediately warm or cooled later.

Directions for Goat Cheese Soufflé

  1. Pre-heat oven to 375 degrees F.
  2. Butter a soufflé dish (or other heavy bottom, medium sized, oven safe dish) and dust with flour.
  3. Heat a sauce pan over medium heat. Add the butter and allow it to melt. Sprinkle in the flour while whisking. Cook about 1 1/2 minutes or until you have a light blond color.
  4. Add milk, goat cheese, nutmeg, salt and pepper and continue cooking and whisking until all is combined, about 3 minutes.
  5. Remove from heat and whisk in the egg yolks.
  6. In a mixing bowl, beat the egg whites until they have stiff peaks. If you have a stand mixer or hand mixer, you might want to use it. I whisked and whisked and whisked and whisked.
  7. Gently fold in the egg whites in to the cheese mixture and add to your soufflé dish.
  8. Place on a baking sheet and bake until puffed and golden, 15-20 minutes. Serve immediately.

Directions for Citrus Sake Butter

  1. Heat a small sauce pan over medium-high heat. Add the grapefruit, lime, lemon and yuzy juice and bring to a boil and reduce to a simmer. Cook until reduced.
  2. Add sake, increase heat and bring to a boil, then reduce back to a simmer. Again, allow to reduce.
  3. Add butter pieces one at a time, whisking until melted. Season with salt and pepper. Remove from heat and serve immediately.

Directions

  1. Heat a large pan or small stock pot (with a cover) over medium heat. Coat the bottom of the page with olive oil. When the oil is shimmering, add the crushed garlic and toss until oil is infused with the garlic.
  2. Add the spinach and toss to coat and cook until slightly wilted.
  3. Add the rice wine vinegar, season with salt and pepper and cover. Allow to cook until deserved doneness is achieved (I will mine with a little bite), keep warm.
  4. Meanwhile, heat another large pan over medium high heat. Cover the bottom of the pan with 50/50 olive oil and canola oil. Season the fish with salt and pepper and add to the pan flesh side down. Cook until golden brown. Turn once and cook until just cooked through, approximately 3 minutes per side.
  5. To serve, add the spinach in the center of the plate, top that with the soufflé, top that with the fish, then add the tomato jam. Finally, drizzle the citrus sake butter around the plate and garnish with radish sprouts.
Pan Roasted Snapper, Goat Cheese Soufflé, Spicy Tomato Jam, Garlic Braised Baby Spinach, Citrus Sake Butter

Leave a Reply

