Pan Roasted Gulf Grouper with feta soufflé, braised spinach, tomato jam and citrus butter at Boshamps

Boshamps grouper feta souffle spinach citrus butter

When traveling, being the foodie that I am, I thoroughly research the local restaurants. I look at reviews, check menus and ask locals for suggestion. On a recent trip to Destin, FL, I happened upon a restaurant called Boshamps. It had all my requirements for dinner at the beach. Fresh, local seafood, interesting menu, at or near the water (amazing views) and finally that it is not a chain. Let me say, I was very pleasantly surprised, so much so that we ate there twice on our trip.

I’m going to focus on the first night for this post and maybe tackle the second meal on a different post.

I started with oysters and they were delicious.

OYSTERS BOSHAMP
baked with caramelized vidalia onion, Alabama feta, house-made bacon marmalade

I love raw oysters and most of the time when you start adding a bunch of stuff to them I think you lose the essence of the oyster experience. That was not the case here. Each ingredient was very well matched with the huge, big, juicy local oysters. See the photo below, click to enlarge.

For my main course I had what many reviewers considered a signature dish.

PAN ROASTED GULF GROUPER
Alabama feta cheese soufflé, garlic braised local spinach, house made Alabama tomato jam, citrus butter

I’ll be honest, I had never heard of a soufflé with fish. I’ve made a tomato jam at home with salmon before but still, this all together vexed me. It did not take long to come around. The fish was perfectly prepared, crispy and light. The soufflé had a texture and flavor that sold it like a starch and the feta added a richness. The garlic greens were fresh and the citrus butter added just the right amount off acidity. The tomato jam added a bit of sweetness to balance out the meal. It was all fantastic.

If you visit the Destin, FL area, I highly recommend Boshamps. It is right on the water, they have a huge outdoor bar and even a little beach area for the dogs and kiddos. The service was very fast and friendly and we loved the food, both times.

Boshamps Oysters in Destin, Florida

Pan Roasted Gulf Grouper with feta soufflé, braised spinach, tomato jam and citrus butter at Boshamps

One thought on “Pan Roasted Gulf Grouper with feta soufflé, braised spinach, tomato jam and citrus butter at Boshamps

Leave a Reply

