Carolina Mule – An Adult Beverage Recipe

Carolina Mule my version of the Moscow-Kentucky Mule

Moscow Mules are all the rage apparently. Copper cups, vodka and ginger beer with a bit of lime. I was reading one of my cooking magazine (I forget which) and I came across a Kentucky Mule. Basically they replace the vodka with bourbon. Anyone who knows me, knows very well that if bourbon is involved, I’m in.

I got to thinking (very dangerous), what if I switched up the ingredients a little and used some local products. I give you the Carolina Mule.

In my Carolina Mule I use bourbon from a local distillery called Six & Twenty. They have a very cool back story involving Issaqueena, a Choctaw Native American maiden. The particular version of bourbon was their 5 Grain whiskey that uses all local grains.

Blenheim Ginger Ale is stuff of South Carolina legend. I’m not sure if you can get this stuff anywhere but the south. There are three flavors that are distingiushed by the color of the cap on the old-school looking bottles. The #9 has a white cap and is a diet version. We like to pretend that this one doesn’t exist. The second is #5 and it has a gold cap. This one will test you pretty good. The third is Old #3 Hot and it has a red cap (actually, it is sort of pink). This one is my favorite and it will BLOW. YOU. UP. It is like drinking pepper, super spicy, and burns your throat as it goes down. Seriouly, when you first try it you’ll be like, “Why?, Why would you do that?”. Soon… you’ll crave that burn, you’ll need that burn and you will be addicted. I’ve heard stories of people driving hours and buying cases of this stuff.

My Carolina Mule has bitters in it. Why? Because I made them. My wife gave me a kit to make my own bitters. I made two kinds, one had a high proof bourbon as the base, the other had Carolina White Lightning (moonshine). I’m not going to say where the moonshine came from, as it might get members of my family in trouble. Let’s just say, this stuff is legit, not that low proof crap they sell in liquor stores and mass market. BTW, if it is sold in a store, it ain’t moonshine. Anyway, I made the bitters with citrus. They are potent to say the least. I understand that you all won’t have Carolina White Lightning citrus bitters, so use what ever bitter you like or leave them out.

I further modified the Moscow/Kentucky Mule versions by adding ginger infused simple syrup. In the south, we like things sweet and just a little bit of the syrup topped the drink off in a fantastic way. For the final southern touch, I used a frozen Mason Jar instead of the traditional copper cup.

So to sum up, this is my version of a Kentucky Mule’s version of a Moscow Mule. It did turn out very nice.

 

Ingredients

  • 2.5 oz Six & Twenty 5 Grain Bourbon (or your favorite bourbon)
  • 1-2 dash Carolina white lightning citrus bitters
  • .5 oz ginger infuezed simple syrup
  • 1 lime
  • 1 sprig mint
  • 1 bottle Blenheim Old #3 Hot – Red Cap Ginger Ale (ginger beer works well too)
Directions

  1. Add the bourbon, bitters, 1/2 the juice from the lime, ginger simple syrup and a few mint leaves in a cocktail shaker with ice. Shake to combine.
  2. In a frozen Mason jar, glass or copper cup add ice and strain in the contents of the shaker.
  3. Fill the glass with Blenheim Ginger Ale.
  4. Garnish with mint and lime and enjoy (responsibily, this stuff packs a punch.
Carolina Mule – An Adult Beverage Recipe

Leave a Reply

