Baked Gnocchi with Prosciutto and Spinach

Baked Gnocchi with Prosciutto and Spinach

This was an experiment gone so right. Try it, tonight. With mostly items on hand, the recipe kind of came together. I had some gnocchi from Rio Bertolini’s that had been in the freezer for a while and I didn’t want to waste them. I had a mostly full jar of Mario Batali’s Arrabbiata sauce. I had prosciutto, onion, baby spinach, and the cheese. I had it all. Sometimes things come together in just the right way.

As with most recipes I have, I started searching Google for Baked Gnocchi recipes. As with most recipes I have, I combined several. I wanted a tomato based rather than a cream based because we were serving it with grilled bread. I needed something I could sop up. This simple meal ended up great and I’m sure the leftovers will be even better. Buon appetito!

UPDATE: Leftovers were great!

 

Ingredients

  • 1 package pepper gnocchi (I love Rio Bertolini’s in Charleston)
  • 1 jar prepared marinara (I love Mario Batali’s Arrabbiata)
  • ½ lbs of sliced or torn prosciutto
  • ½ small red onion, sliced in thin strips
  • 1 bunch baby spinach
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • ½ cup low fat shredded Italian mix cheese
  • 1 mozzarella ball, cubed
  • 1 tsp crushed red pepper flake
  • 1 cup Italian bread crumb (or Panko)
  • ½ cup of grated parmesan reggiano cheese.
  • Olive oil
Directions

  1. Pre heat oven to 400 F degrees.
  2. If gnocchi is frozen then bring a large pot to a boil. Add the gnocchi and reduce heat. Right when they start to come to the top, drain and set aside.
  3. Spray an oven safe dish with cooking spray or rub with olive oil. Add all ingredients and toss to combine. Top mixture with bread crumb and grated cheese and drizzle with olive oil. I would NOT add any additional salt.
  4. Bake uncovered for approximately 30 minutes or until top is golden brown.
  5. Serve with grilled bread.
Baked Gnocchi with Prosciutto and Spinach

Leave a Reply

