Chicken, Shrimp and Udon Noodle Soup

Chicken, Shrimp and Udon Noodle Soup

My take on chicken noodle soup. This was an unbelievable throw together meal. The weather was chilly and we wanted something soothing and comforting. What’s more comforting than chicken noodle soup? I had some leftover rotisserie chicken, frozen shrimp, and box of udon noodles that had been in the cabinet for a while (I’ve been using soba noodles instead). I also had four boxes of different kinds of stock in the fridge. With those and a quick trip to the grocery, I was inspired.

This dish was delicious. It was light, very light. My wife described it as a soup you might get at a spa. It was very refreshing and cleansing. I resisted adding salt and more heat (which I have a propensity to do) and I think here it paid off. The noodles, when eaten alone I felt “needed something” but when eaten with the broth and vegetables it was just right.

 

Ingredients

  • Leftover rotisserie chicken chunked or shredded
  • Shrimp (I keep frozen on hand but fresh is better)
  • Stock no salt added (I used 2 cups beef, 2 cups vegetable, 3 cups chicken)
  • Water (1-2 cups to fill out the soup)
  • Udon noodles
  • Dale’s steak seasoning (I like this better than soy sauce)
  • Sake (just a splash or use rice wine vinegar instead)
  • Canola oil
  • 2 inches of ginger root (1 inch minced the rest just peeled)
  • 3 cloves garlic minced
  • 2 large carrots chopped
  • Bok choy chiffonade the leaves and chop the stems
  • Sugar snap peas sliced on the bias
  • 1 jalapeno sliced thin (you can remove stem and seeds but I wouldn’t)
  • 2 large portabella mushrooms sliced (use whatever kind you like, shitake would be good)
  • 3 green onions sliced on the bias (reserve some for garnish)
  • Cilantro to garnish
Directions

  1. First, I prepared my mise en place. This goes much faster once all is minced and sliced.
  2. Heat the stock in a large pot over medium heat. Add the 1 inch of ginger that wasn’t minced and let it slowly flavor the broth (you can do this while chopping). Increase heat and bring to a boil, add udon (usually takes about 10 minutes, but you’ll want to time it so that all the next steps are complete before the udon are done).
  3. Heat large sauté pan over medium heat. Add 1.5 tablespoons of canola and the chopped bok chop stems. Cook until slightly softened. Add bok choy leaves until they are slightly wilted. Add carrots and jalapeno toss to combine. Remove from pan and set aside.
  4. Add more canola and the minced garlic and ginger. Cook until fragrant. Add sliced mushrooms and cook until just softened. Add Sake to deglaze pan. Set aside.
  5. When the noodles are about 2-3 minutes from being done, reduce heat to medium and add everything except the shrimp to the pot. Stir in approximately 1-2 tablespoons of Dale’s (or soy sauce). I would suggest being judicious at first and add more if needed later. Let the soup simmer, stirring to combine.
  6. Just before serving, add the shrimp. Depending on the size, they shouldn’t take more than a few minutes to cook through.
  7. Garnish with green onions and cilantro and enjoy. I served it with vegetable spring rolls from the freezer.
Chicken, Shrimp and Udon Noodle Soup

2 thoughts on “Chicken, Shrimp and Udon Noodle Soup

  1. I`ll probably use soba or rice noodles instead, but this is a pretty awesome recipe overall! I think it will be better with more spice too. I like putting the spring rolls on the side, I just can`t ever get myself to fry things. I`m not a big fan of burns, and frying always creates them. I guess I`ll have to live with amazing soup. I`m not thinking it will be that difficult a loss!

Leave a Reply

