Thai Barbeque Chicken Pizza

Thai Barbecue Chicken Pizza

Who doesn’t love pizza? I eat it just about twice a week (make it one night and leftovers another). Infinite possibilities exist with pizza and I enjoy trying to sample all of them. I bet I haven’t ordered pizza delivery in eight years. With the availability of quality ingredients and the fact that most grocery stores carry fresh pizza dough, it’s cheaper, faster and better to make my own.

On this day I was craving heat and as I’ve mentioned in previous posts, my wife is now craving heat as well. Since I was craving Asian, I went with Thai Barbecue Chicken Pizza. I love, love, loved it. The heat from the sriracha, the sweet from the bbq sauce and peanut butter, the crunch/sour/heat of the carrots and read onions, the crunch and salt of the peanuts, the fresh cilantro and green onions, the…well everything. This is a keeper.

I’m not sure if they have it still on the menu but I used to get a Thai barbeque chicken pizza at the sandwich shop Schlotzsky’s. I think I had one at California Pizza Kitchens as well. Anyway, those were the original inspirations, my pizza was better than either of those.

 

Ingredients

  • Peanut butter
  • Dale’s steak seasoning (or regular soy sauce)
  • Barbeque sauce (I used Jack Daniels brand)
  • Low sodium soy sauce
  • Sriracha
  • Rice wine vinegar
  • Honey
  • Granulated garlic
  • Powdered ginger
  • Pizza dough (I used store bought multigrain)
  • 1 store bought rotisserie chicken, chopped in ½ inch pieces
  • Spicy pickled carrots and red onions (click for recipe)
  • 1 bunch cilantro, chopped and to garnish
  • 4 green onions, sliced on the bias
  • 1 handful chopped cashews
  • Shredded cheese (I used several different kinds)

Directions

  1. Place pizza stone in the middle rack and pre-heat oven to 500 degrees F. If you don’t have a pizza stone get one.
  2. First, cut the pizza dough in half. Set the cut side of each half down and push the edges in to form a ball. Flour your board well, and stretch. I use every method known to get the dough as thin as possible, including a rolling pin.
  3. Once you have the first half as thin as you like it, put it on a sheet pan and bake in the pre-heating oven until slightly browned. Remove and set aside. Repeat this for the other piece of dough. BTW, I usually make a different pizza with the other dough, but that’s another post.
  4. Combine the first 9 ingredients in sauce pan over medium-low heat. Whisky and reduce until desired consistency, it won’t take long. Sorry for the lack of measurements but I encourage you to combine this to your tastes. If you want more heat, add more sriracha. Want more sweet, add more bar-b-que sauce or honey.
  5. Add chicken to half the sauce and toss to coat. Set aside.
  6. Spread some of the remaining sauce over the pre baked crust.
  7. Sprinkle a light layer of your favorite shredded cheese (I used a combination of mozzarella, seven cheese Italian and fontina).
  8. Next, add a layer of carrots and onions, a layer of chicken. Sprinkle cilantro, green onions and peanuts. Finish with more shredded cheese.
  9. Cut oven temperature down to 400 degrees F and place the pizza on the pizza stone. Cook until cheese is melted and the crust is to your liking (I’ll like my crunchy).
  10. Sprinkle with more cilantro and green onions. Enjoy.
Thai Barbeque Chicken Pizza

Leave a Reply

