Seared Duck Breast, Herbed Crepe with Mushrooms, Honey-Glazed Baby Carrots, Wilted Kale, Demi-glace

Seared Duck Breast, Herbed Crepe with Mushroom, Honey Glazed Baby Carrots, Wilted Kale with a Demi-glace

When my wife is away I tend to play (in the kitchen). I tend to try new ingredients, recipes or techniques. This particular time I was craving duck. Doing a Google images search (I find a lot of great recipes that way), I found these two images and was totally inspired.

Chef de Cuisine Brett Dufee of Bayona - New Orleans, LA
Seared Duck Breast, Duck Confit Crepe, Wilted Kale, Honey Glazed Carrots, and Date-Molasses Sauce

 

I only wish I could plate as well as this dish is plated. What you are look at was defined as:

Seared Duck Breast, Duck Confit Crepe, Wilted Kale, Honey Glazed Carrots, and Date-Molasses Sauce.

I gave it a try, but changed it up based on what I could find. Basically I didn’t have any duck confit and didn’t want to take the time to make date-molasses. I end up with; Seared Duck Breast, Herbed Crepe with Mushroom, Honey Glazed Baby Carrots, Wilted Kale with a Demi-glace. Uhhh…Yum. I can’t imagine how good the original Chef’s dish was, but mine was pretty good.

 

Honey Glazed Carrots Ingredients

  • 1 large bunch of baby carrots (I used reqular and purple)
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 21 tablespoon unsalted butter
  • 2 teaspoons lemon juice
Directions

  1. In a large pot, heat water to a boil and place the carrots in the steamer. Don’t over cook. Remove and place in ice water then dry.
  2. In a large pan (I used the same one that sauteed the mushrooms in) heat over medium heat.
  3. Melt butter in the pan, add the carrots. Toss then add honey and lemon juice and season with salt and pepper. Keep warm

 

Wilted Kale Ingredients

  • 1 pound kale
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1 teaspoon crush red pepper flake (or more if you like more heat)
  • 1/2 cup of chicken stock
  • Salt and peopper
Directions

  1. Heat large pan over medium high heat.
  2. Add olive oil, garlic and crushed red pepper flake. Cook until garlic is fragrant.
  3. Add kale and toss. Cook until slightly wilted.
  4. Add stock, toss then cover. Reduce heat to low.

 

Seared Duck Ingredients

  • 2 duck breasts
  • Salt and pepper
Directions

  1. Heat a large pan or skillet over medium high heat.
  2. Score the ducks fatty side with cross-hatches.
  3. Place the duck fat side down and sear until most of the fat is rendered out and flip.
  4. Finish in the oven if need be, I prefer my duck pretty rare. Oh, and by the way, don’t toss that extra duck fat. It is liquid gold.

 

Demi-Glace Ingredients

  • 1 box of demi-glace
Directions

  1. Yep. I totally cheated here. I happen to have a box container that was to expire soon. So I used it.
  2. If you are more motivated then I, the is a great demi-glace recipe by Emeril.

 

This was a very ornate meal, but like I said the wife was out of town. What else would I be doing. I garnished, as the Chef did with pistachios, mint and edible flowers. I also wanted to give full create to the original creator of this dish. Google images credits, “Chef de Cuisine Brett Dufee of Bayona – New Orleans, LA”. Well done Chef, well done.

Seared Duck Breast, Herbed Crepe with Mushrooms, Honey-Glazed Baby Carrots, Wilted Kale, Demi-glace

One thought on “Seared Duck Breast, Herbed Crepe with Mushrooms, Honey-Glazed Baby Carrots, Wilted Kale, Demi-glace

Leave a Reply

