Skillet-Roasted Chicken, Farro with Acorn Squash and Kale and Herb Pistou

Skillet-Roasted Chicken, Farro with Acorn Squash and Kale and Herb Pistou.

Beautiful. Sometimes that is how you have to describe food. One particular month, the cover of Bon appetit magazine particularly caught my eye. Not only did the dish on the cover look amazing, it happened to have been prepared by one of my favorite Chefs and at one of my favorite restaurants.

I’ve been a fan of Chef Brock since he took over as head Chef at my favorite restaurant, McCrady’s in Charleston, SC. Shortly after he won a James Beard award, he opened his second restaurant Husk. Even before Bon appetit named Husk the best new restaurant in America, I had made a pilgrimage to the restaurant. Good thing too, it’s getting harder and harder to get a reservation.

Seeing the Bon appetit cover and recipe inside, it was a lock that I would try this recipe. A number of the elements were appealing, especially the at home sous-vide. The wife was visiting family one week, I had nothing better to do so I dedicated a Friday and Saturday night to recreating this dish. While mine isn’t nearly as beautiful as Chef Brock’s, I assure you it was plenty tasty.

I rarely follow a recipe exactly; in this case I did and was very pleased with the results.

The farro was earthy, the kale brought bitterness, the acorn squash had the sweetness, the chicken was savory, rich and crunchy and the herb pistou was the punch of light, freshness that tied the whole thing together. Beautiful.

Click the links below for the recipes.

Skillet-Roasted Chicken Recipe

Farro with Acorn Squash and Kale Recipe

Herb Pistou Recipe

Skillet-Roasted Chicken, Farro with Acorn Squash and Kale and Herb Pistou

4 thoughts on “Skillet-Roasted Chicken, Farro with Acorn Squash and Kale and Herb Pistou

Leave a Reply

