My Ultimate Surf and Turf.

Seared Filet Mignon w/ pan jus, Crab Cakes w/ wasabi cream and Pepper Salad, Steak Fries and Steamed Broccolini.We had just gotten back from a week at the beach where I had fresh seafood every single night. Needless to say we where craving cow. We did bring back from the beach some fresh frozen crab cakes from none other then The Crab Cake Lady, so I figured that it was surf and turf time. Seriously, who doesn’t love a good steak and a good crab cake?

After work I made a trip to The Fresh Market where I believe they have some of the best filet mignon around. I picked up two beautiful steaks and the accoutrement. I think Jen said something like, “this is one of the best things you’ve made” and “best homemade fries I’ve every had”. I wish I could take credit, but the steaks and crab cakes were amazing with very little help from me. The fries where a recipe that I combined from two cooking shows I had watched, I think it was Jamie Oliver and Tyler Florence. They were yummy! The wasabi cream didn’t bring a whole lot (a little heat and sweet), but looked pretty although it turned out a little more runny then I had anticipated. The pepper salad was added for some crunch and acidity and played its role well.

The meal was made all the better because I finally broke in my new All-Clad pan to sear the steaks in. Jen got me my first “professional” pan for my birthday and I had been waiting for a good opportunity to break it in. What fun, I love it! 😀

This is yet another time when I really wish I was a better photographer because these photos do not do this meal justice. So order some crab cakes from The Crab Cake Lady (check out her story, it is pretty cool), get some nice steak filet and make this meal, you won’t regret it. I give you my version of Surf & Turf: Seared Filet Mignon w/ pan jus, Crab Cakes w/ wasabi cream and Pepper Salad, Steak Fries and Steamed Broccolini.

 

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 filet mignon steaks (don’t skimp, get the good stuff)
  • 2 crab cakes (I usually make my own, but I couldn’t beat The Crab Cake Lady)
  • 2 large potatoes (which ever type you prefer)
  • 1 bunch of brocolini
  • 2 bell peppers (I used 1 red and 1 yellow)
  • flour
  • 1 egg and a splash of milk
  • bread crumb (I used Panko but you could use Italian)
  • rice wine vinegar
  • wasabi paste
  • sour cream
  • chicken or beef stock
  • olive oil
  • Montreal seasoning
  • salt and pepper
DIRECTIONS

  1. If you purchase frozen crab cakes I suggest defrosting them in the refrigerator for a few hours.
  2. Cut the potatoes into big stick shapes. I cut the ends off the the top, bottom and sides to try and get consistent sizes. I left the rest of the skins on because they are yummy and full of good stuff. Put the cut fries in a big bowl of water and let soak, turning occasionally for 10-15 minutes. This will take a coat of starch of them and make them extra crisp.
  3. Preheat the oven to 425° (you may also want to bring a pot of water to simmer for later). Dry the fries well then toss with olive oil, salt and pepper. Place on a baking sheet and cook for a total of at least 45 minutes (short or longer depending on how crunchy you like them). I usually flip them about 20 minutes in so they brown on at least two sides. Before serving I sprinkled the fries with just a little Montreal steak seasoning.
  4. Meanwhile, in a small whisking bowl add a few tablespoons of wasabi paste, a tablespoon of sour cream, a few teaspoons of rice wine vinegar and salt and pepper. Whisky together and taste. If it’s to hot and more cream or some milk, if you want it more spicy add more wasabi paste. I have a little squeeze bottle that I put such sauces in. Chill.
  5. Julienne the bell peppers and toss with a splash of rice wine vinegar and salt and pepper. Cover and chill.
  6. In three shallow bowl but flour, egg and milk and the panko break crumbs. Season the flour and bread crumbs with a little salt and pepper. Whisk the egg and milk. Place the crab cakes one by one in the flour and dust off any extra. Next the egg wash, then the bread crumb. DON’T over do the bread crumb just a light layer is all you need. Once the crab cakes are breaded, set aside.
  7. Pre-heat two medium size pans over medium-high heat (depending on your burners and pans). One pan needs to be oven proof (that was my new All-Clad pan).
  8. Season the steaks with salt and pepper. In the oven proof pan heat a few tablespoons of olive oil until smoking (you could use canola or sunflower oil so it doesn’t smoke but I love the extra flavor the olive oil adds). Sear the steaks on both side until you have a nice crust. I also sear the sides for a few second to seal in those juices. If you like your steak really rare like me then your done. If you like your steak less rare place the pan in the oven for a few minutes. PLEASE don’t over cook good steaks. Medium too me is over cooked. Let steaks rest for at least a few minutes before serving.
  9. While the steaks are resting, put the pan back on medium heat and whisk in stock making sure to scrape up all the little bits of deliciousness. Season with salt and pepper to taste.
  10. Meanwhile, in the second pan heat a few tablespoons of olive oil. Cook the breaded crab cakes until they are golden brown on each side. I set them on a paper towel afterward to absorb any extra oil.
  11. In a large pot with a steamer, bring water to boil. If needed, trim the brocolini ends (you shouldn’t need to trim much). Place the brocolini in the steamer with the florets furthest away so the stocks will be steamed more. Steam for no more the 3 minutes. If you don’t have a steamer you can put a little water in a large bowl and microwave the brocolini. I tossed the brocolini with just a light sprinkle of salt and a squeeze of lemon juice.

To serve place the pepper salad under the crab cake and drizzle with wasabi cream. I stacked the fries. I spooned a little of the pan jus under the steak and simply laid the brocolini across the plate. ENJOY!

My Ultimate Surf and Turf.

One thought on “My Ultimate Surf and Turf.

Leave a Reply

