Prosciutto Wrapped Halibut, Haricot Verts, Baked Duck Fat Fries

Prosciutto Wrapped Halibut, Haricot Verts, Baked Duck Fat FriesInspired by my last post I decided to make the meal at home with my own little tweaks. I decided to make a Prosciutto Wrapped Halibut, Haricot Verts and Spicy Roasted Tomatoes with Baked Duck Fat Fries.

Several weeks after visiting The Lazy Goat and having the Serrano Wrapped Halibut, I started craving it again. I loved the meal but I had a few tweaks to better suit my palate. Instead of wrapping the halibut with Serrano I chose prosciutto. I did that because, well, I love prosciutto. I also love sage (and it is going nuts in our herb garden right now), so added a few fresh sage leaves between the prosciutto and the fish.

I could only guess the recipe for the haricot verts (or French green beans). From taste, I figured they had crushed red pepper and red wine vinegar so thats what I stuck with although I added more pepper flake because I love the extra heat.

Now, onto the duck fat fries (or pommes frites). I don’t have a fryer, thank goodness. I did however have some duck fat left over from a previous meal. I have to say that my fries where not as good as The Lazy Goat fries but they were darn close.

I really liked this meal. The halibut was very fresh (from The Fresh Market). The prosciutto added that nice saltiness and the sage added a freshness. I really like green beans and the spicey tomato was a nice balance of heat. DUCK FAT RULES! The fries were great. I would recommend this one. YUM!

 

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 4-6 ounce halibut filets
  • Thinly sliced prosciutto
  • 2-4 fresh sage leaves (depending on size)
  • French Green Beans
  • 1/2 pint of cherry or grape tomatoes
  • 1-2 teaspoons of crushed red pepper flake (season to taste)
  • 1-2 tablespoons red wine vinegar
  • juice of 1/2 lemon (and vest if you like)
  • 2-3 medium potatoes (use what you have, I used russet)
  • 1-2 tablespoons duck fat (you can purchase online)
  • grated parmigiano reggiano (go ahead and get the real stuff, it’s worth it)
  • olive oil
  • salt and pepper
DIRECTIONS

  1. Preheat oven to 425°. Slice potato in to fries like shape, place in warm, salted water and bring to a boil. With spider or slotted spoon remove from water and dry thoroughly.
  2. Place the beans in the water for a few minutes until partically cooked then remove and place in an ice bath to cool. Remove, dry and set aside.
  3. In a large pan melt duck fat (or oil) on medium high heat. Cook the potatoes, sautéing until slightly crispy. Season with salt and pepper and place in oven. Check them occasionally and toss to brown on all sides. When ready to server, grate parmigiano reggiano over the top.
  4. In a small bowl add red wine vinegar and lemon juice and whisk to combine.
  5. In a large sautee pan, heat olive oil at medium heat. Add crushed red pepper flake. Drop the tomatoes in the oil and sauté until they begin to burst. You can crush the tomatoes or poke them with a knife to speed this up, but you want that juice and the seeds in the pan. Add the green beans and sauté until warmed through. Season with salt. Add vinaigrette and sauté until tomatoes and beans are covered. Keep warm.
  6. Meanwhile, preheat grill pan or other oven proof pan to medium. Season halibut with salt and pepper. Place one sage leaf on fish and wrap procuitto around halibut.
  7. Place fish on the grill pan and cook until procuitto becomes crisp. Flip and cook on the other site. If doneness at this point is a concern, place pan in the oven until fish is cooked through.
Prosciutto Wrapped Halibut, Haricot Verts, Baked Duck Fat Fries

7 thoughts on “Prosciutto Wrapped Halibut, Haricot Verts, Baked Duck Fat Fries

Leave a Reply

