Caprese Pizza with Balsamic Drizzle

Caprese Pizza with Balsamic DrizzleWe love pizza. We make it once a week and I usually finish it off on leftover night. This particular night we made a Caprese Pizza with Balsamic Drizzle. I know that most would call this a pizza margherita, but I thought I would play on the caprese salad thing.

It is (FINALLY) that time of year where the heirloom tomatoes are not coming from a hot house and to celebrate we purchased a few from Whole Foods. We love some heirloom tomatoes, they are just better, they are! In addition to the tomatoes, the basil in our herb garden is growing like crazy (we got our basil plant from Greenbrier Farms). If the tomatoes and basil weren’t enough of a sign, we also purchased a pizza dough from Whole Foods, which we do once a week. I used to make my own pizza dough, but truthfully most grocery stores carry them for like $2-3. Craving the tomato, the basil and the fresh pizza dough, I had the means, the motive and opportunity for PIZZA TIME.

This pizza was amazing. The heirlooms and sea salt by themselves are amazing but add in the crunchy crusty bread, the herbaceous basil, the sweet, sour of the balsamic and the fresh mozzarella to hold it all together, YUM. Give this one a try people.

 

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 or 2 large heirloom tomatoes (depending on the size of the pizza)
  • 1/2 pint of small heirloom tomatoes
  • Fresh mozzarella cheese (don’t skimp here, get good quality cheese)
  • Tomato sauce (homemade or jarred)
  • Fresh basil
  • Aged balsomic Vinegar
  • Sugar
  • Pizza dough (homemade or store bought) (let it sit out at room temperature for 30 minutes)
  • Olive oil (I use garlic infused olive oil)
  • Sea salt and fresh cracked pepper.
DIRECTIONS

  1. Place your pizza stone in the oven and warm the stone for at least 30 minutes at 500°. What? You don’t have a pizza stone? Well go get one, it’s worth it. Okay, so if you don’t want to get a pizza stone, just preheat the oven to 450°.
  2. In a medium to small sauce pan, pour the balsamic vinegar and sugar. Bring to a boil, reduce to simmer. Simmer until thick. I didn’t put a measurement because I don’t really measure things so good. Maybe 1 to 1 1/2 cups of vinegar to 1 to 2 tablespoons of sugar. It really depends on how sweet you like it.
  3. Roll out the dough. I NEVER get it in a perfect circle and gave up many years ago. We like our pizza thin and crispy so I try to get it pretty thin. I also brush the pizza with the olive oil and cook the dough for a few minutes before I make the pizza.
  4. Spread the tomato sauce conservatively over the dough. You don’t need a lot of sauce, just enough to cover.
  5. Slice the mozzarella into 1/4 inch slices. place the cheese on the dough. I like to break the cheese slices up and make sure they will melt all over the pizza.
  6. Slice the tomatoes into 1/4 inch slices and lay all over the pizza. Again, I like to make sure each bit you get a little of every thing.
  7. Sprinkle a little sea salt and fresh cracked pepper on the tomatoes.
  8. Slide pizza onto the pizza stone and cook until cheese is melted and crust is at desired crustiness.
  9. Drizzle the balsamic reduction over the pizza. Add as much as you like.
  10. Cut the basil into a chiffonade or tear the basil leaves into small pieces. I think traditional Italians frown on cutting basil because it tends to brown but whatever floats your boat.

 

My only regret with the pizza in the photo was I should have put more basil, which I corrected after the photo. I suppose I could have taken my time with drizzling the balsamic reduction but hey, I was hungry. I hope you enjoy this pizza, we sure did. We would live any comments, let us know what you think.
Caprese Pizza with Balsamic Drizzle

Leave a Reply

