Tequila Mojo Chicken, Spanish rice and Corn and Black Bean Relish

corn and black bean relishFor lunch one day I got the Southwest Chargrilled Chicken Salad from Chick-fil-a and really enjoyed the corn and black bean relish that came with the salad. I actually craved more when I was done eating the salad, so I tried to “invent” a similar recipe for dinner. I came up with a Tequila Mojo Chicken with Spanish rice and Corn and Black Bean Relish.

Since the chicken and rice were really just fillers to the main course that I had been craving, I didn’t really spend that much time or put much thought to them. I even used store bough mojo sauce to marinate the chicken. I did use bone in, skin on thighs because I prefer dark meat and the skin and bones keep it moist (oh yes and they are cheaper too). I am not really sure why I put the tequila in there, you could totally leave it out. For the rice I used a quality box of “Spanish” rice, that we eat regularly.

The relish, ah the relish, THAT is what I had been craving. I love corn and black beans together. I make many types of relishes, salads and salsas with corn and black beans and this is now towards the top of the list. I actually only used half of the Jalapeño because Jen doesn’t like super spicy and I was afraid the Poblano and the Jalapeño would be too much. Next time I will add the whole Jalapeño because nether of us got enough heat. Cooking the corn as I explain below is the only way I do it anymore because the husks steam the corn. The creamy Dijon mustard and the acidity of rice wine vinegar is amazing. The crunch and heat from the peppers add the texture and punch to balance out the relish. You can see from the picture, I just dumped it all of the the chicken and rice.

 

INGREDIENTS

  • Chicken, I used skin on, bone it thighs
  • Mojo sauce, you can make your own, I used store bought
  • Tequila
  • Box of Spanish rice
  • 2-3 Ears of corn in husks
  • 15 oz Can black beans, rinsed and – drained
  • 1 large Poblano pepper diced
  • 1/2 to 1 whole Jalapeño seeded diced
  • 1/4 cup rice wine vinegar
  • 2 tb vegetable oil
  • 1 tb Dijon mustard
  • 1 ts chili powder
  • 1 ts ground cumin
  • 2 tablespoons rice vinegar
  • Salt and freshly ground pepper to taste
DIRECTIONS

  1. Place chicken in a large ziplock bag with mojo and tequila and place in the refrigerator.
  2. Set oven to 400-425, cut the tops off the fresh corn and pull away any loose husks. Please corn in the oven and cook until corn is tender. Remove husks and cut kernels from corn. In a large bowl, combine corn, beans and peppers. Whisk remaining ingredients in a small bowl. Pour over corn mixture and toss to coat. Place in the refrigerator to chill until ready to serve.
  3. Prepare rice per instruction on box. Sometimes we add garlic and onions.
  4. Heat a grill pan to medium or medium high. Pat the chicken and cook on the grill pan. Some times I finish it in the oven if the internal temperature isn’t high enough and the skin has already blackened.
Tequila Mojo Chicken, Spanish rice and Corn and Black Bean Relish

One thought on “Tequila Mojo Chicken, Spanish rice and Corn and Black Bean Relish

  1. John Lyons says:

    I have a bottle of the Chick-Fil-A, Corn and Black Bean Salad Dressing in my hand. Product #83511. It comes in a 1 gallon container. Here are the list of ingredients, in order that they appear on the bottle. Keep in mind that, according to truth in labeling in the US, ingredients are listed in order of quantity with the most being first and the least being last. Here goes… I’t a pretty long list.

    Soybean Oil, green onions, water, lime juice concentrate (preserved with sulfites), red and green chili peppers, distilled vinegar, tomato paste, high fructose corn syrup, cilantro, tomatoes, onion (including dehydrated), salt sugar, jalapeno peppers, green bell peppers, chipotle peppers, dextrose, red bell peppers*, green pepper juice, garlic juice, wheat germ, maltodextrin, potassium sorbate and sodium benzoate added as preservatives, garlic*, xanthan gum, natural flavors (including smoke flavor), cocoa powder, citric acid, polysorbate 60, propylene glycol alginate, calcium disodium EDTA added to protect flavor, pimentos. *Dehydrated

    Well, there ya go. Some seems pretty easy to get, but I’m betting Poly 60 and the alginate is going to be hard to find.

Leave a Reply

