Ginger-Marinated Pork Tenderloin with Jasmine Edamame Rice

I was in the mood for Asian food and the pork tenderloin looked good that day (and was on sale), so I made ginger marinated pork tenderloin. I have made this before starting from a base ginger-marinated pork recipe from Gourmet magazine.

I was feeling in a healthy mood so I wanted some rice to accompany the pork and jasmine rice sounded nice. You’ll see below this is an Asian influenced rice, but the idea came from a local Persian restaurant called Pomegranate on Main (a favorite lunch and dinner spot). They have this amazing basmati rice with lima beans, light, citrus-y, awesome. Well, Jen doesn’t like lima beans and this was after all an Asian style meal so I came up with Jasmine edamame rice.

On the pork recipe, I don’t really do much varying. I added a little more garlic and ginger (Jen and I love garlic and ginger). I only cooked my tenderloin to 145 degrees and let it get to 155 with carry over cooking as it rested. I am acutely aware of how easily pork can become tough and I much prefer a little pink then dryness. I also add a little less brown sugar which I might normally omit entirely but it gives the pork a really nice caramelization and helps thicken the sauce. Speaking of the sauce, WOW! I don’t normally strain my sauces but in the case make sure you do, it ends up shiny and perfect. Also, I reduced my sauce for probably 30 minutes, longer then the recipe calls for.

On the rice, you pretty much follow the recipe of a box of jasmine rice. You could use regular rice and omit the coconut milk, but I was craving both. Make sure your mint is fresh, the dry stuff won’t work here. I also recommend fresh lemon. Start with one lemon taste it, then add more for a more citrus-y taste. Finally, I would definetly season with salt and pepper, it was a little bland without it. Enjoy!

 

INGREDIENTS
For Pork:

  • 1 2/3 cups chicken broth (13 1/2 ounces)
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 1/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons tomato paste
  • 3 tablespoons finely grated peeled fresh ginger
  • 1 large shallot, thinly sliced
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • tablespoon cider vinegar
  • 1 (3/4 pound) pork tenderloin
  • 1 small red bell pepper, thinly sliced
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil

For Rice:

  • I package uncooked jasmine rice
  • 3/4 cup water
  • 1 1/4 cup coconut milk
  • 1 1/2 cups frozen edamame
  • juice from 1-2 lemons
  • 2 tbsp freshly chopped mint
  • salt & pepper to taste
DIRECTIONS

  1. Whisk together 2/3 cup broth, soy sauce, brown sugar, tomato paste, ginger, garlic, and vinegar and pour into a large sealable plastic bag. Add tenderloin and seal bag, then marinate, chilled, turning bag over occasionally, 2 hours.
  2. Bring tenderloin to room temperature, about 1 hour.
  3. Put oven rack in middle position and preheat oven to 425°F.
  4. Pat tenderloin dry and reserve marinade. Heat oil in a 12-inch ovenproof skillet over moderately high heat until hot but not smoking, then brown tenderloin on all sides, turning with tongs, about 3 minutes total. Transfer skillet to oven and roast pork until thermometer inserted diagonally into center of meat registers 155°F, 12 to 15 minutes. Transfer to a cutting board and let stand, loosely covered with foil, 10 minutes.
  5. While meat is roasting, pour marinade through a fine-mesh sieve into a small saucepan and boil until reduced to about 1/3 cup, 10 to 15 minutes. Stir in remaining cup broth and bring sauce to a simmer. Serve slices of tenderloin with sauce.
  6. Cook the rice per directions except replace 1 1/4 cups of the water with coconut milk. A few minutes before the rice is done mix in the frozen edamame. Just before serving, drop the fresh mint and lemon juice in and fluff the rice. Taste the rice and season with salt and pepper.
Ginger-Marinated Pork Tenderloin with Jasmine Edamame Rice

2 thoughts on “Ginger-Marinated Pork Tenderloin with Jasmine Edamame Rice

  1. You have quite a nice foodie site here! I work with Seapoint Farms, we manufacture and distribute edamame products across the country – thanks for cooking with our Wonder Veggie! For including it in your recipe you have been entered into our monthly drawing to win a case of Dry Roasted Edamame. Thanks again for the great healthy recipe, I look forward to reading more.

    Cook On!

Leave a Reply

