Duck, Jeweled Couscous and Dandelion Greens at American Grocery

duck-couscous-dandelion-greensOn this occasion (this was like 3 months ago during Foodie Week) during my visit to American Grocery I had the Duck, Jeweled Couscous and Dandelion Greens. I am ashamed to admit that I can’t remember what the jus was, but it was good, I do remember that much. The duck was a little chewy, which even the best preparation of duck can sometimes be. The dandelion greens where very bitter, which they always are no matter what preparation they get. The couscous was jeweled with currents and I think dried cranberries which was a little sweet for me. With all that said, I loved this dish. I would not have raved about it if either of the sides were by themselves. The bitterness of dandelion greens and the sweetness of the couscous balanced each other perfectly. Then add the rich and savoriness that the duck and jus brought, well, it was amazing.

More about American Grocery
American Grocery in downtown Greenville, South Carolina may be one of my favorite restaurants in the world. Super fresh ingredients, the menu changes daily based on available ingredients and a dedication to farm to table cooking. The sophistication of their food is amazing. Many times I look at the menu and think, “I won’t like that because of X ingredient”, then I try it and I love it. If you are from this area or visit this part of the country, do yourself a favor and give them a try. This is high end cuisine people, so if you are the buffet type, don’t go here. Consider yourself warned, that Chef Clarke serves an appropriate portion size and the cost is on the higher end for this area. If you are going to have wine or drinks (I highly recommend the bacon infused bourbon) then prepare to spend over $100 for two.

Duck, Jeweled Couscous and Dandelion Greens at American Grocery

One thought on “Duck, Jeweled Couscous and Dandelion Greens at American Grocery

Leave a Reply

